If you are a member of the CII or PFS, you will be invited to use one of the following relevant designatory letters after your name, once you have qualified in the CII exams. Recognised and sought after around the world, they demonstrate to employers, peers and clients that you are committed to self-development and the raising of standards. They also indicate your level of achievement within the industry, and are only available to qualified members.

Chartered Status

Chartered status is available to members at the highest levels of academic attainment and professional achievement. Research proves that consumers value and trust Chartered status.*

* Consumer Research, 2004

There are four Chartered titles:

  • Chartered Insurer
  • Chartered Insurance Practitioner
  • Chartered Broker
  • Chartered Financial Planner

Designatory Letters

General Insurance

Financial Services



Fellowship is universally regarded as the premier qualification for those working in the insurance or financial services industry. It is measured at degree standard.


Associate members are those who have gone on to secure more advanced qualifications by completing the Advanced Diploma in Insurance or Financial Planning.

Dip CII®


Qualified members who have completed a Diploma level qualification. This is equivalent to the Certificate of Higher Education/HNC. Another version of the CII designation is available to claims practitioners who have completed the relevant examinations and who are members of the Faculty of Claims.

Cert CII® CertPFS®

Qualified members who have completed a Certificate level qualification. This is equivalent to an A-level. Other versions of the CII designation are available to claims practitioners; mortgage practitioners; people who work in the life, pensions and investments industry and people who work in the London market, who have completed the relevant exams and belong to the appropriate faculty.

Ordinary Member

Student Member

Ordinary or Student membership is for new people entering the general insurance or financial services sector, embarking on their first qualification or who simply wish to be able to enjoy the CII/PFS range of membership benefits.